A

axe DevTools

Deque's accessibility testing extension. It scans a page for issues using the axe-core engine, with a free version and a paid Pro plan.

Add to Chrome Free version, paid Pro plan · Chrome Web Store · Official site · Docs

Why it's a strong pick

axe DevTools is made by Deque Systems and built on the axe-core engine. The Chrome Web Store version is 4.138.0, updated 29 September 2026. Deque's own page says 4.80.1 was the official Manifest V3 release, rolled out to Chrome on 14 May 2024. The trade-off: much of the feature list is Pro only, and automated checks cannot prove a page is accessible.

What it does

It gives you automated, page-by-page accessibility testing inside Chrome. You open the page you want to test, run a scan and read the issues it finds. The free version scans individual pages. Deque's docs say it tests WCAG 2.0, 2.1 and 2.2 at levels A, AA and AAA, and it can be set to Section 508 and EN 301 549.

Key features

  • Free page scans. The free version scans individual pages.
  • WCAG and standards. Tests WCAG 2.0, 2.1 and 2.2 (A, AA, AAA); can be set to Section 508 and EN 301 549, per Deque's docs.
  • Pro: guided testing. The store listing names intelligent guided testing, component-level checks and whole user-flow testing.
  • Pro: AI-enhanced features. Listed by Deque for the paid plan.
  • Pro: teams. Central administration, deduplicated results and Jira integration, per the store listing.
  • Chrome and Edge only for some tools. Saving and exporting results, and guided tests, work only on Chrome and Edge, not Firefox.

Who it's for

axe DevTools suits developers and QA testers who want quick automated checks while they work, and teams that may later move to Pro. For a fully free option built on the same engine, see Accessibility Insights for Web. For a visual overlay of issues on the page, see WAVE Evaluation Tool. For one narrow check, try Colour Contrast Checker.

Is axe DevTools free?

Partly. Deque offers a free version that scans individual pages and a paid Pro plan with more features. The store listing shows no prices, so we quote none. Check Deque's page for current plans. We found no statement about needing an account for the free version, so we say: not stated.

Does axe DevTools work with Manifest V3?

Yes. Deque's page on the move says version 4.80.1 is the official Manifest V3 release, and it rolled out to Chrome on 14 May 2024. Users on the Chrome Web Store with auto-update needed to do nothing. The store now lists version 4.138.0.

What data does axe DevTools collect?

The store listing's disclosure names personally identifiable information, location and website content. It says the data is not sold outside approved uses, and that the Pro plan gives more control over what is collected. That is the developer's own account. We found no permission list on the store page, so check the install prompt in Chrome.

Is axe DevTools open source?

We cannot say. The extension is not stated as open source on the pages we read. The axe-core engine it is built on is a separate project, and we did not check its licence for this page. If open source matters to you, check Deque's pages and the axe-core repository yourself.

FAQ

Can axe DevTools prove my page is accessible? No. Automated scans find a share of issues only. Pair them with manual checks, keyboard testing and a screen reader.

Does it work in Firefox? Saving and exporting results and guided tests work only on Chrome and Edge, per Deque's docs.

Where are the docs? Deque keeps them at docs.deque.com/devtools-for-web/4/en/.

Good to know

Most of the listing's long feature list belongs to Pro. Start with the free version on one important page, such as your checkout or sign-up form, and fix what it flags. Then do a quick keyboard-only pass by hand. A clean scan is a start, not a pass mark. (Xplorekit's own tip, not from the listing.)

Other accessibility tools to compare

axe DevTools is one of 6 picks in our accessibility tools guide:

Official sources

This is a third-party extension, not built or maintained by Xplorekit. We link to the official Chrome Web Store listing — install and permissions are entirely between you and the extension's own publisher.